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Background on Convenience Fees 

 
Background 
Hawaii state law permits agencies to establish electronic access fees for “value-added” 
online services pertaining to public access to records and electronic transactions, in order 
to fund the development, operation, maintenance and expansion of all services on the 
Portal.  The policy of the State of Hawaii is that these fees will be assessed to Portal users 
so that the Portal can be supported and electronic services delivered for all of Hawaii’s 
citizens and businesses without using state tax dollars.  
 
The successes the Portal has enjoyed in the past several years, first with one agency, then 
two, then three, and so forth, have laid the foundation for further successes in the future. 
 
Legislation 
The state Internet portal was authorized in legislation, SB2838 from the 2000 session.  
This was signed as Act 292 of the 2000 session.  Section 3 of SB2838, addresses the 
authority of government agencies to charge a convenience fee through the portal, stating 
 
"SECTION 3.  Any statute to the contrary notwithstanding, government agencies may 
charge for value added electronic services provided through the portal manager." 
 
Considerations in Setting Value-Added (convenience) Fees 
 

Act 292 makes it clear that it is the government agency, not the portal manager, that has 
the authority to charge the value added fee.  From a practical standpoint, and the way the 
portal has operated to date, is that the portal manager and the government agency work 
together to establish a reasonable convenience fee.  The objective is to balance the 
portal’s need for continued funding with the perceived public value of the online service.  
 
Regarding the process by which fees are set, they are based on market research on what 
other states are charging for similar services, and a qualitative evaluation of the value-add 
by putting the service online.   The ideal fee is one that the public perceives is a “good 
deal” in consideration of the convenience, speed, and overall value of the online service. 
 
For example, what convenience fee would most people feel is reasonable to avoid the 
hassle and cost of taking time off from work, driving downtown, finding and paying for 
parking, waiting in line at a government building, and having to pay cash at the counter? 
 



 
 

 
Examples of eHawaiiGov Convenience fees 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Application Statutory Fee Portal Convenience Fee 

Certificate of Good Standing $5.00 $2.50 (add-on) 

Online Tax Filings Varies per taxpayer $1.00 + 2.25% credit card fee 
(add-on) 

Vital Records (birth & 
marriage certificates) 

$10.00 $1.50 + $.25/copy (add-on) 

DCCA Professional 
Vocational Licenses 

Varies by profession: 
$50.00 to $200.00 

10% of statutory fee 

DCCA BREG Filings Varies by type of filing:  
$5.00 to $50.00 

Varies by type of filing:  $1.00 to 
$20.00 

Land Title Records Per page fee to Bureau 
of Conveyances 

10% + 3% credit card fee 
 

Fishing Licenses $10.00 $1.50 (add-on) 

Online Criminal History $10.00 $3.00 (add-on) 


